Website builder - Build your personal space

This area is devoted to the new Jersey Computing Curriculum, which comprises three areas;

 Digital Literacy (DL)
ICT Skills (IT)
Computer Science (CS)

The completed 2014 Jersey Computing Curriculum is available at the bottom of this page, where you will also find folders that contain a variety of documents collated into groups. Immediately below here is an embedded article from Wired magazine exploring the meaning of digital literacy and below that is a table highlighting some of the most important documents (and links to websites) that informed the new Jersey Computing Curriculum.

 Document Title (click to open)
Description / Comments
Jersey Computing Curriculum 2014
 The final version of the new document, which came into force in September 2014. The Digital Literacy and ICT Skills strands have become compulsory immediately but schools can develop their delivery of the Computer Science strand throughout the academic year 2014/15 prior to full implementation in September 2015.
Computing in the National Curriculum (CAS/NAACE, 2013)
 Outline PoS and new levels (for primary school teachers)
Shut Down or Restart: Computing in Schools (Royal Society, 2012)
 Recommendations to improve computing teaching in UK schools
National Curriculum for Computing (CAS/NAACE, 2014)
 Detailed programmes of study for KS1 to KS4
Draft Framework for ICT (NAACE, 2012)
 Overview, outlines and definitions for EYFS, KS1 and KS2
Computing Programmes of Study for KS1 and KS2 (DfE, 2013)
 National Curriculum in England: Aims and Subject Content
Computer Science: A Curriculum for Schools (CAS, 2012)
 Includes "What Every Pupil Should Know" and current NC Levels
Microsoft Digital Literacy Curriculum
A certificated, self-study curriculum comprising Basic, Standard and Advanced levels in versions that are optimised for a variety of platforms, from Windows XP (with Office 2003) to Windows 8 (with Office 2013). The units range from simple introductions through privacy and digital lifestyles to building your first app.
Highly recommended
SWGfL Digital Literacy and Citizenship Curriculum
Adapted by the South-West Grid for Learning from Common Sense Media's resources, these free age-appropriate materials cover a wide range of topics (Internet Safety, Privacy & Security, Relationships & Communication, Cyberbullying,  Information Literacy, Self-image & Identity, Digital Footprint & Reputation and Creative Credit & Copyright) for students from Foundation through to KS4.
Google Digital Literacy and Citizenship Curriculum
Part of Google's Good to Know resource centre ( these three sets of class activities for children were developed in partnership with iKeepSafe (